Living in the Snoqualmie Valley country has its benefits. Fall, for one. Seeing the leaves change is so pretty, especially when it’s a warm, sunny, crisp, fall day.

Since last week there’s been a horrible eye sore in the valley. This is a normal Fall view (below) coming across the valley on the bridge over the Snoqualmie River (without the rain).

(Sorry for the poor cell phone picture quality. Trust me, it’s so much prettier.)

This last week the view has been ruined by this:

That’s right, a broken, busted up television set! On the side of the road, right on the bridge! Luckily it didn’t fall in the river! Either someone shoved it off their truck, or it fell off. Do you think they arrived to wherever they were going and realized now they needed to get a new TV? Well, that’s one way to get a new flat screen this holiday season. 🙂 Unfortunately, not cool for the environment.

When I thought of this idea, Man & Nature, I thought it would be candy wrappers and soda cans, but this is a pretty big find. So this is a sort of series I’ll try and do each week or two. Find something man made (the TV) and something nature made (the leaves) along side the road or the sidewalk when on my walks with Mr. Kosmo, remove it, photograph it, draw it, trash the trash and share the drawing with you (no matter how bad it is). Unfortunately, this TV was too big for me to pick up on my own to properly get rid of, but I think it’s gone now. I’m pretty sure it was gone this morning, or maybe I wasn’t paying close enough attention. If not, I’ll find some way to get rid of it tomorrow.

So this is the best drawing I could do with the time I had. I’m hoping to get quicker and better with time and I’ll try and take the photo’s in better daylight. At 4:30pm, it’s already getting dark here in the Seattle area. This is also a great way for me to practice. While this was just a pencil sketch, I want to use color, whether with colored pencils or watercolor paint. Hopefully, you’ll find some interesting creations, a little inspiration and a little less trash.

